arrow-circle arrow-long-stroke arrow-stroke arrow-thick arrow-thin arrow-triangle icon 2 baseballCreated with Sketch. basketball calendar category check-circle check-square check comment facebook-circle facebook-icon facebook-rounded facebook-square facebook-stroke football instagram-circle instagram-icon instagram-square long-arrow-right rss-circle rss-rounded rss-square rss-stroke rss twitter-circle twitter-icon twitter-rounded twitter-square twitter-stroke user-group user

Track ‘Em Tigers Auburn Football Hall of Fame Ballot for 2013

By on July 4th, 2013 in Football 1 Comment »

This week here at Track ‘Em Tigers, we have been taking nominations for our own Auburn Tigers Football Hall of Fame – class of 2013.

In the last couple of days, we have had some intriguing comments put forth in support of some outstanding nominations. But that’s not surprising since there have been hundred’s of Tiger greats that have played on The Plains.

One thing I learned from the discussion is that maybe in the future we might need to have two classifications. One representing  players from the  last 25 – 30 years and one representing “old school” Tigers.

Since we announced on Monday that Coach Pat Dye was nominated for the staff’s selection for Track ‘Em Tigers, his name is already on the list.

To get our other seven selections we have prepared a ballot/poll based on the names provided by TET members from this week’s nominations. However, we have one deviation from our announced plans.

In the comments on Monday’s article, TET member Todd92 made a compelling case to include Coach George Petrie. Todd had this to say about Coach Petrie:

“Coach George Petrie- organized and coached the first football team at AU. Wrote the Auburn Creed which we strive to live by and we all cherish. We have George Petrie to thank for Auburn Football… It could have been started by someone else somewhere down the line but thankfully it wasn’t.”

We whole heartedly agree with that endorsement and believe if any name is worthy of being included in anyone’s Auburn Football Hall of Fame, it should be Coach Petrie. Therefore George Petrie will be included in this year’s class as a special staff placement.

There are 10 names on the list and the poll will close at the end of the week. The seven names receiving the highest number of votes will be included in this year’s class of the Track ‘Em Tigers Football Hall of Fame. So vote for the seven that you would like to see go into this year’s HOF class. At the first of the week, we will publish a tribute article to the list of winners.

Since the comments for Monday’s article have been closed, please feel free to discuss your ballot here on this post.

We thank you and again wish all a Happy 4th of July.

War Eagle!

(Ballot is Closed)

Ballot for 2013 class of Track 'em Tigers Auburn Football Hall of Fame (Choose 7 names.)

  • Terry Beasley (WR) (92%, 755 Votes)
  • Carnell Williams (RB) (91%, 748 Votes)
  • Carlos Rogers (DB) (87%, 718 Votes)
  • Takeo Spikes (LB) (74%, 611 Votes)
  • Jason Campbell (QB) (74%, 606 Votes)
  • Al Del Greco (ST) (69%, 564 Votes)
  • Tommy Tuberville (Coach) (61%, 503 Votes)
  • Marcus McNeill (OL) (47%, 385 Votes)
  • David Rocker DL) (40%, 331 Votes)
  • Aundray Bruce (DE) (40%, 326 Votes)

Total Voters: 821

Loading ... Loading ...

One Comment

  1. […] represent that kind of winning tradition? What we did was turn to our readers for help. Over 800 TET members voted during the July 4th holidays and selected a nine member class that features two former National […]