arrow-circle arrow-long-stroke arrow-stroke arrow-thick arrow-thin arrow-triangle icon 2 baseballCreated with Sketch. basketball calendar category check-circle check-square check comment facebook-circle facebook-icon facebook-rounded facebook-square facebook-stroke football instagram-circle instagram-icon instagram-square long-arrow-right rss-circle rss-rounded rss-square rss-stroke rss twitter-circle twitter-icon twitter-rounded twitter-square twitter-stroke user-group user

Gus Malzahn National Coach of the Year! (updated 12-13-13)

By on December 11th, 2013 in Football, News 3 Comments »

                                                                                                                      (photo:Bret Davis)
Auburn Head coach Gus Malzahn, recipient of the AP’s SEC Coach of the Year on Monday, was named today the Home Depot National Coach of the Year.

He’ll be presented the award on national television Thursday during  the Home Depot College Football Awards show at 6 p.m. Central time on ESPN. 

Malzahn is the first coach in 66 years to win an SEC Conference Championship in his first season. Johnny Vaught of Ole Miss was the last coach to accomplish the feat in 1947.

The SEC Coach of the Year and architect of one of the greatest turn-arounds in the history of the sport is also a finalist for three additional National Coach of the Year Honors: The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year, the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year and the Bobby Bowden National Coach of the Year.

Fans can have an impact on the Liberty Mutual Award by going on line and voting for their favorite coach. You can vote once each day. The fan vote will count for twenty percent of the final selection process. So click on this link and vote today.

Congrats Coach Malzahn and

War Eagle!

Updated, 12-13-13: Coach Malzahn was named today to his second National Coach of the Year honor when the Sporting News recognized him and Duke Coach David Cutcliff as “Co” Coaches of the Year.


  1. Third Generation Tiger Third Generation Tiger says:

    On my way to vote!

  2. WarEagleAtlanta WarEagleAtlanta says:

    Curious….How many different sponsors do we have for coach of the year?

  3. AUglenn says:

    No one is deserving as Malzahn. He not only turned around a down program but he did it against the best in the SEC! Glad he’s our coach.