arrow-circle arrow-long-stroke arrow-stroke arrow-thick arrow-thin arrow-triangle icon 2 baseballCreated with Sketch. basketball calendar category check-circle check-square check comment facebook-circle facebook-icon facebook-rounded facebook-square facebook-stroke football instagram-circle instagram-icon instagram-square long-arrow-right rss-circle rss-rounded rss-square rss-stroke rss twitter-circle twitter-icon twitter-rounded twitter-square twitter-stroke user-group user

Eight Tigers Named Pre-Season All-SEC at Media Days

By on July 23rd, 2011 in Football Comments Off on Eight Tigers Named Pre-Season All-SEC at Media Days

Auburn Offensive Lineman Brandon Mosley was named to the preseason All-SEC Team.


Even though the 2011 Auburn football team will be the youngest team in the SEC this year – eight Auburn players were named to the 2011 All-Southeastern Conference Media Days Football Team. The announcement came from the league office on Friday.

The list was headed by Offensive Tackle Brandon Moseley who was a first team selection. He began 2010 as a backup to AJ Greene but when Greene went down with a season ending leg injury against Clemson, he took over and was a starter for the rest of the season. Brandon actually played in all 14 games and started in 11.

He was part of a National Championship offensive line that only allowed 23 sacks in nearly 300 pass attempts for the year. The 2010 O-Line helped set a school record of 300 or more yards in six straight SEC games for the season.

Other Tigers making the team were Defensive back Neiko Thorpe,  junior Running backOnterrio McCalebb,  junior Tight End Philip Lutzenkirchen, sophomore Running backMichael Dyer, and sophomore Defensive Lineman Nosa Eguae, to the second team. Also Junior Wide Receiver Emory Blake and junior Defensive back T’Sharvan Bell were named to the third team.

In addition, sophomore Defensive Lineman Corey Lemonier was named last week to theCoaches All- SEC third team, bringing the total to nine Tigers chosen for preseason All-Conference Teams.

Congratulations to these Tigers and War Eagle!

Comments are closed.