arrow-circle arrow-long-stroke arrow-stroke arrow-thick arrow-thin arrow-triangle icon 2 baseballCreated with Sketch. basketball calendar category check-circle check-square check comment facebook-circle facebook-icon facebook-rounded facebook-square facebook-stroke football instagram-circle instagram-icon instagram-square long-arrow-right rss-circle rss-rounded rss-square rss-stroke rss twitter-circle twitter-icon twitter-rounded twitter-square twitter-stroke user-group user

Cody Parkey and Steven Clark Receive Preseason Honors

By on July 10th, 2013 in Football, News Comments Off on Cody Parkey and Steven Clark Receive Preseason Honors
Cody Parkey

Cody Parkey

Auburn senior punter Steven Clark was named to the Ray Guy Award Watch List today for the third year in a row. And for the second year in a row, Auburn senior kicker Cody Parkey was named to the Lou Groza College Place-Kicker Award List.

Parkey who was a semifinalist last season, acknowledged it was an honor to be on the list but added, “At the end of the day, it’s about being on the list at the end of the season and I’m training hard and looking forward to a great 2013 season.”

Cody has scored 142 career points and connected on 70 out of 71 PAT attempts. He led Auburn in scoring last year when he was 100  per cent successful on 27  PAT’s and hit 11-of-14 field goals.

Clark who is known for his booming high kicks only had five of his 70 punts to be returned last season. He averaged almost 40 yards per punt and had 15 punts that were downed inside the 20-yard line. He is a two-time Ray Guy Award semifinalist.

Steven Clark

Steven Clark

When Steven received the news, he was appreciative and said, “I’m really looking forward to putting my best on the field this season and helping my team to what I feel can be a special year.”

The Ray Guy Award is sponsored by Augusta Sports Council in honor of  the College Football Hall of Famer. The place kicker award is named for former NFL Hall of  Famer Lou Grosa and is sponsored by the Orange Bowl Committee.

The winners of both awards will be announced at the end of the season and recognized on ESPN’s College Awards show in December.

Congratulations to both of these Tigers. May you help bring about a special season on The Plains this year.

War Eagle!

Comments are closed.