arrow-circle arrow-long-stroke arrow-stroke arrow-thick arrow-thin arrow-triangle icon 2 baseballCreated with Sketch. basketball calendar category check-circle check-square check comment facebook-circle facebook-icon facebook-rounded facebook-square facebook-stroke football instagram-circle instagram-icon instagram-square long-arrow-right rss-circle rss-rounded rss-square rss-stroke rss twitter-circle twitter-icon twitter-rounded twitter-square twitter-stroke user-group user

Auburn Week 8 winner of Academy’s College Football Game of the Year contest‏

By on October 25th, 2013 in Football, News 1 Comment »

Auburn’s win over Texas A&M has been chosen as the Game of the Week by the US Sports Academy. A national panel of experts selects the weekly winner of the Academy’s College Football Game of the Year Contest.

Each week’s winner is considered for the award honoring the best College Football Game of the Year at the end of the season. Last season’s winner was Texas A&M’s 29-24 upset of Alabama.

According to the CBS network, the nail-bitter contest was the most watched college football game in the country Saturday drawing 35 percent more viewers than the broadcast of No. 2 Florida’s 44-11 win over No. 7 South Carolina during the same week last season.

The committee making the selections is currently chaired by Jack Lengyel, the former athletic director at the United States Naval Academy. Lengyel was also a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University football program, as depicted in the 2006 film, “We Are Marshall.”

In choosing Auburn for the honor, the committee gave special recognition to Defensive End Dee Ford:

“Johnny Manziel … was finally stopped in his tracks, thanks to Tigers’ defensive end Dee Ford who ensured his team’s, 45-41, upset victory over No. 7 Texas A&M (5-2, 2-2) by dropping the Aggie’s elusive Heisman Trophy quarterback twice in three plays at the end of the game. His sacks drove the Aggies back 30 yards. His last one ended the game when he drug down Manziel on fourth down from the Auburn 21 yard line with 11 seconds left to play.”

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives (ASAMA) 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned by the Academy each year to create a painting honoring the selected College Football Game of the Year. The Academy, also known as America’s Sports University, donates the painting and $5,000 to the general scholarship fund of the annual winner. More information on the Academy’s choice of the Auburn game as well as information on the Academy itself can be seen at this link.

Congratulations to Auburn and War Eagle to our Tigers!

One Comment

  1. HamiltonAUfan HamiltonAUfan says:

    Congratulations to Dee Ford and to the Auburn tigers for beating the Aggies