arrow-circle arrow-long-stroke arrow-stroke arrow-thick arrow-thin arrow-triangle icon 2 baseballCreated with Sketch. basketball calendar category check-circle check-square check comment facebook-circle facebook-icon facebook-rounded facebook-square facebook-stroke football instagram-circle instagram-icon instagram-square long-arrow-right rss-circle rss-rounded rss-square rss-stroke rss twitter-circle twitter-icon twitter-rounded twitter-square twitter-stroke user-group user

Auburn Players Reaping Postseason Awards

By on December 12th, 2019 in Football, News 2 Comments »

Bo Nix was named the Freshman Player of the Year in the Southeastern Conference (photo: USA TODAY Sports)

It’s that time of the year when accolades start coming to outstanding college football players. On Tuesday of this week five Auburn Tigers were named to All-SEC Teams, and now two have received Conference Player of the Year Awards.

Defensive linemen Derrick Brown and Marlon Davidson were named to the first team of the coaches’ All-SEC Team, and linebacker K.J. Britt, offensive tackle Prince Tega Wanogho Jr., and punt returner Christian Tutt were selected second-team All Conference. 

Then on Wednesday, the coaches selected Brown the AP Defensive Player of the Year after receiving the same honor from the Associated Press. In addition, quarterback Bo Nix was selected to the All Freshman Team as well as being named AP Southeastern Conference Freshman Player of the Year.

Nix set Auburn freshman records for yards, completions and passing touchdowns. He led the Tigers to a top-10 ranking in the AP poll while completing 200 of 351 passes for 2,366 yards and five touchdowns and rushing for 301 yards and seven TD’s.

Brown finished the regular season with 50 total tackles, including 12 1/2 for a loss, four sacks, two fumbles, and 38 quarterback pressures—all while being double teamed and held by offensive linemen all year.

Derrick’s honors this week may just be the beginning of the awards coming his way as the senior is a finalist for seven national awards, including two to be announced tonight at the College Football Awards Show.

War Eagle and congratulations to all these Tigers!


  1. AUglenn says:

    All very deserving. We’re really going to miss Brown and Davidson. I hope they both play in the bowl game.

  2. Jason Wright says:

    Derrick Brown got robbed tonight!

Skip to toolbar